Tiny Polaroid Magnets

20120216-161027.jpg

I made these tiny magnets for Tim for Valentine’s Day using photos from various trips we had taken. I tried to use photos mostly from trips, as Tim would say “PJ” or pre-Josh, so that there would be a nice little reminder of life before a baby right there on our fridge.

I found this project on Ambrosia Creative and her’s are far better than anything I could ever do. Her tutorial even includes a photoshop template. But even without access to photoshop these still turned out really cute and I’m really pleased with them!

20120216-174653.jpg

One of the apps I have downloaded on my phone (camera+ I think) has a boarder which looks like an instant Polaroid photo, though I’m sure there are others, probably on Instagram too, which let’s you add in text.

Once I had done that, I arranged the images on two 4×6 photos which I just printed at home. I later found this magnetic photo paper which prints photos directly onto them, which if I had it to do over I might have used instead. Either way, it was just a matter of gluing the layers together; photo paper to cardboard, cardboard to magnetic sheets. I then covered them with contact paper, in case Josh gets his hands on them. After that it was just a matter of cutting them all out.

20120216-174258.jpg

20120216-174333.jpg

I think the thing that is really nice is that Tim genuinely seems to like them and it’s been fun to look at the photos and say to each other, “remember that time on that trip when…”

20120216-174547.jpg

20120216-174608.jpg

Leave a Reply

