Lace Window Screens

20120329-204548.jpg

England is weird.

I have been living here six years now and there are still many things I have yet to understand about this country.

Some of them I can overlook, like prawn flavoured crisps, or, to translate for the American’s out there, shrimp flavoured chips. I don’t particularly understand it, but I suppose if you like chips and you like shrimp, heck, why not put it together?! Knock yourselves out!

But there are some things that I just will never understand.

One of which is, why do they not have screens on any windows in England?

20120329-204232.jpg

This is our bathroom window and as you can see, you push it out to open it, and there is no screen.

In America, we have screens on everything: back doors, front doors, windows, you name it!

But not here. Which means a house full of bees, wasps, and other things they call “midges.”

I just don’t get it. I don’t even think they sell window screens here.

So I’m attempting to solve this problem.

Lace window screens.

20120329-205012.jpg

I realise that it is not the most elegant or classy option, but it’s easy and practical; two things I can get behind.

All I did was buy some velcro stickers and find some left over lace curtain material.

20120329-205219.jpg

20120329-205229.jpg

I then measured the windows and cut the lace to fit.

20120329-205348.jpg

I stuck the velcro stickers on the inside of my window in the four corners.

20120329-205447.jpg

Classy looking right?! I don’t care as long as it keeps out the wasps.

Then I stuck the other half of the velcro to the lace. I even sewed them to the lace to make it a bit more secure.

20120329-205742.jpg

And then, I stuck the lace up on the window and attached it using the velcro.

20120329-205849.jpg

20120329-210350.jpg

Now hopefully we won’t have as many winged visitors as usual.

Not that Josh seems to care either way!

20120329-210541.jpg

10 responses to “Lace Window Screens

  1. you’re a genius! being screen-less would bug (har har har) the hell out of me.

  2. I can’t be a genius if it took six years for me to sort it out! And “bug me,” haha! Should’ve been the title! πŸ™‚

  3. We have the same problem here in Sweden! I’ve been here 7 years and can make lace with my sewing machine and this never occurred to me! Looks great!!

    • Thanks Suzanne! I’m glad to know I’m not the only one annoyed by this! It doesn’t seem to bother my husband at all. I’m sure you are far more crafty than me and could come up with something much prettier! πŸ™‚

      • Oh I doubt that! I just let the machine do the work. I sure wish I could sew. LOL The bugs only bother my husband when my cat is tearing up the house chasing them around.

      • Suzanne that’s too funny! Sound like you need the window screens more than I do! πŸ™‚

  4. That would be beautiful even with screens. I may try that this summer. Cover the screens.

    • Hi Sheron! What a wonderful idea that I never would have thought of. I’m sure you could find some way to attach them to the outside of the window frame. Would love to hear what you come up with! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

