100 Days

20120418-193032.jpg

Today, I needed to run some errands in central London. On my way in, I grabbed the Metro (the free paper in London), and look at the headline!

20120418-193109.jpg

Only 100 days till the Olympics!

I don’t know about everyone else, but I am really excited about it!

Well, I guess I do have some idea of how some British people feel…

Most of the Brits I’ve talked to aren’t as excited as I think they should be. But then again, we American’s are known for being enthusiastic.

About everything.

Perhaps a bit too much for British tastes.

The British people that I have talked to about the Olympics mainly focus on the hassle it will cause to their lives. Oh the traffic! Oh the tourists! Many of them are looking to just get out of London while the games are on.

There were some “adverts” in the Metro even hinting at this, as if saying “we know it’s going to be annoying, but please just try and make the best of the situation.”

20120418-194317.jpg

20120418-194327.jpg

Another thing I’ve heard lots of British people complain about, is how the tickets for the games were allocated. Everyone who was interested signed up, and, in a sort of lottery, were given tickets. Obviously, if the event you wanted was more popular, there was less of a chance of you getting tickets.

The funny thing is, or the thing that irritates me, is that usually, the people that complain about this “unfair” ticketing allotment, never actually signed up to get tickets in the first place. Is it just me who feels that you really can’t complain about something that you didn’t even try for?

And of all of the people I know who did apply for tickets, they all got something. Even if it is just to weightlifting (sorry anyone who likes weightlifting!), but they still got tickets.

Tim and I applied for several events (our two big ones were track and field or swimming) and we ended up with one morning session for the swimming. So I am counting down the days!

I guess what I’m trying to say, somewhere in this long rant, is that people should be excited about the Olympics!

What a wonderful experience to tell your children about someday.

My Grandpa was lucky enough to get tickets to the Los Angeles Olympics back in 1984. He always said if I ever got the opportunity to go someday, it didn’t matter to which event, I had to go. You’re experiencing a part of history.

He was full of good advice.

When I had finished my errands in London, I made my way down to Trafalgar Square and the big Olympic countdown clock. There were lots of news trucks there and the clock was roped off, but I took a few pictures with my phone.

20120418-200042.jpg

20120418-200100.jpg

Aside from the journalists and random tourists, there weren’t many people around.

Hopefully it was just the weather that put them off.

10 responses to “100 Days

  1. There was a lottery system for the Atlanta olympics, too–but there almost had to be, since there was such a demand! I remember one of the big topics swirling was that we would all be able to cash-in by renting out our homes for the Olympic travelers. There was also a lot of concern about the traffic. The reality, however, was that hardly Anyone I knew ended up making rent money, and there was very, very little traffic–less than usual! (Of course, there were some problems with the ATL bus transportation to the venues, and that was terribly unfortunate. They did work that out, though.) We did attend several events,and like you, we viewed it as an historic opportunity. Enjoy!

    • I bet you had a wonderful time at the Olympics! And so funny that there ended up being even less traffic! I imagine that wherever they hold it, there will be people who complain. I won’t let that stop me from enjoying it though despite all the tourists! People watching is going to be half of the fun!

      • Yes, it was great fun. My favorite venue was the whitewater kayaking. And, I think there was less traffic bc no one was working–everyone was going to the games (or staying home to see how we were being broadcast on t.v. 🙂 )

      • you use to be a tourist back in the day too 🙂

      • Nancy your shed is bigger than my house! It’s perfect! And don’t worry; I will never consider myself a “local!”

  2. Brits aren’t the only one for a distaste in hosting olympics.

    Ever heard of the 1976 Colorado Winter Games?

    Nope? Colorado won the bid then the people votes to overturn it because it was too costly, would cause damage to their “natural resources” and be to many tourists.

    Check it out. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1976_Winter_Olympics

    • Nancy I never knew that! Tim says “that’s remarkable!” I’m glad British people haven’t gone that far! If they ever decide to have an Olympics again in Colorado, we get dibs on one of your rooms! 🙂

  3. yeah .. it’s been on our news recently because CO wants to put in a bid for the Olympics but there’s controversy if we’ll reject it again. haha.

    you’re the first one to call dibs. Everyone else will have to camp in my backyard and in the shed 😉

  4. What fun! I would love to be there and be a part of it. When the time comes, how will they not get sucked in to all the excitement happening right there?

Leave a Reply

