First Drafts

20120420-202832.jpg

Every morning, without fail, Josh will eat a whole bowl of oatmeal.

This began months ago with Josh “mooching” some of Tim’s oatmeal at breakfast.

As difficult as it is to get him to eat certain foods sometimes, he’ll happily eat anything… as long as someone else is currently eating it.

He will walk over to where you are sitting, ask to be picked up, sit on your lap and happily plunge his dirty little toddler hands into your food and eat away.

I guess I might be mad, but at least he’s eating right?

This morning, to mix things up a bit, I tried out a different recipe for baked oatmeal. I had never made baked oatmeal before, but I had some strawberries that needed using and decided to give it a go.

The recipe I used is for baked oatmeal with strawberries, banana and chocolate, which I found here at Inspired Taste.

I did change the recipe a bit in that I probably doubled the amount of strawberries (I told you I had a lot of strawberries that needed using!), and reduced the salt by half. I also didn’t use any chocolate and instead used almonds in place of the walnuts.

It is nice because I think it can be refrigerated and heated up for breakfast tomorrow. And maybe even the day after, depending on how much Josh decides to eat!

20120420-203139.jpg

20120420-203151.jpg

20120420-203210.jpg

20120420-203221.jpg

20120420-203241.jpg

20120420-203259.jpg

20120420-203308.jpg

Either way, it was a hit today with Josh, so we’ll see if he feels the same about it tomorrow.

20120420-203402.jpg

After breakfast, we went for a walk along the canal.

20120420-203654.jpg

At one point on the walk, there was an area where they had just cut the grass. I gathered some up for Josh who enjoyed playing with it as we walked, even despite the wind blowing most of it away.

20120420-203852.jpg

We ended up making our way to the local art museum, which runs an under 5s painting session every month.

It was our first time going and I was beginning to regret the decision as Josh seemed more obsessed with these little pom pom animals than the paint.

20120420-204134.jpg

But as more kids starting arriving and painting, he was able to watch them and eventually ended up painting quite a bit.

20120420-204358.jpg

20120420-204413.jpg

20120420-204422.jpg

We ended up having a really nice time and I hope we can go do more of these sessions in the future.

Speaking of trying new things…

Last night was the first class for a creative writing course I am taking.

I’ve always had an interest in writing and now that I think of it, in all my many, many years of schooling, I don’t think I’ve ever taken a class completely dedicated to creative writing.

In all honesty, I was really nervous last night. I thought it would go either one of two ways. One, no one would actually be in the class, or two, I would be so completely out of my league.

It turned out to be just fine though and they seem like a really friendly group of talented people.

If anything it inspired me, listening to the instructor talk about the process (and frustrations) that come with writing. My favourite quote she used during the evening was one from Ernest Hemingway, who apparently said “The first draft of anything is shit.”

20120420-210507.jpg

Wise words indeed.

4 responses to “First Drafts

  1. yay! enjoy the creative writing class!

    I took a bio class for fun. no joke. Next semester, I’m thinking of taking a photography class for fun. School is so much more enjoyable when there are no expectations or real goal.

    I hope you have fun and learn how to spell favorite (not favourite) again

    • Nancy I don’t think a bio class would ever be fun! Now photography… that would be fun! I bet you could easily teach a class on building/DIY though!

      You always make me laugh with your British comments! I told you, it’s the auto correct!

  2. You packed a lot into this post, Kerry! That baked oatmeal looks pretty tasty–was it? Have fun with that writing class, and good for you for signing up. I think I’ll keep that Hemingway quote in mind. At least if I have a draft of something I don’t like, I’ll know I’m in good company. 🙂

    • Thanks Robin! It’s been a busy week! The oatmeal was good, though I think Josh is more a fan than I. It’s a great quote isn’t it? We’re in very good company! 🙂

Leave a Reply

