Travel Thursday

20120522-205007.jpg

Between all the Wordless Wednesdays and Photo Fridays, I’ve been getting a little bit restless.

I have always loved to travel, and I have always done a lot of travelling.

Well, up until this year really. Even when Josh was a baby, we still went out to California. The poor guy has done that 11 hour flight four times already (I suppose eight if you count each way), and he’s not even two yet.

But this year we haven’t gone anywhere, unless you count Birmingham… and I don’t.

So I thought, just to reiterate how important travel is to me and how someday I hope Josh will love to travel (and hopefully enjoy looking at all Mom’s pictures), I decided to do a “Travel Thursday” if you will. Maybe a “reminiscing about travelling” title would be more explanatory, but oh well.

These are a few pictures I took during a trip to China. It was my last hurrah, if you will, before we settled down and began a family. Tim thought I was insane (though to be fair, he probably still does), but I grabbed my camera and my backpack and travelled around China for about a month. Sure it was hard and it was scary at times, but I’m so glad that I took the plunge and just did it.

It was an incredible experience.

I hope you enjoy these few pictures, which were all taken in Beijing.

And Josh if you’re reading this in a few years, I can’t wait to go and explore some of this big world with you.

20120522-210104.jpg

20120522-210122.jpg

20120522-210138.jpg

20120522-210155.jpg

20120522-210207.jpg

20120522-210323.jpg

9 responses to “Travel Thursday

  1. Awesome quote and nice pictures!!

  2. Can I get a photo dump of Travel Thursdays of our adventures 😉 You know .. like when we went to lovely Staines. hahaha.

    • I’m laughing remembering the “shopping trolley” Christmas photos! I need to find those! What were we thinking?! Probably just so excited after finding ice and free refills!

      • hahaha.. I actually have the shopping cart pictures on my facebook if you scroll through the england album. hahah.

  3. Terrific photos, Kerry! Were you backpacking on your own around China? Pretty gutsy! Did you need some kind of special permission? I hope this means we’ll get another slice of your story next Thursday. 😉

    • Thanks Robin! Yes I did go on my own and I like to think it was gutsy while Tim still thinks it was “insane.” I did need a visa and I remember rushing around London frantically trying to rush that through at the Chinese embassy. It all ended up working out in the end though! I don’t know if I’ll keep doing this every Thursday, but these photos have been bringing back some fun memories so it has been really enjoyable for me too! 🙂

  4. I look forward to your travel stories! I don’t travel much and it’s such a shame. Now I even have a toddler as an excuse not to travel even more 😦 Hopefully I’ll get my butt in gear and visit more places!

    • Don’t feel bad about not travelling! I find now, having done all that travelling before kids, I want to go as a family, so that Josh can see these new places. So even if you haven’t been many places, it will be wonderful to take your little guy (when he’s a bit older and able to appreciate it) and explore these new places together! I keep telling Josh I’m gonna drag him all over the world someday; whether he wants to or not! 😉

Leave a Reply

