Soldiers and Swans

20120607-201200.jpg

It seems like all we’ve been doing these last few days has been working on the house.

Not very exciting for a bank holiday, but there you go.To be fair, the weather has been pretty awful. Yet despite the weather, Josh and I managed to have a pretty nice day today.

My mom is coming to visit in a few weeks (have I mentioned how excited I am?!), and she loves Windsor. I don’t know why, but every time she’s here, she always wants to go to Windsor.

So in honour of her impending arrival, I thought Josh and I would go and do a trial run there today.

When we got there, I put him in the stroller, walked all the way up to the castle and, feeling a bit adventurous, I thought “nah, let’s just walk!” So I took the stroller back to the car and we set off.

We must have arrived at just the right time because they were doing the changing of the guard.

I have to be honest; there’s been a lot of “pageantry” in the UK lately and as we stood there waiting for the soldiers, I wondered if I had reached my limit, gazing at all the union jack bunting stretching as far as the eye could see.

I always make fun of the British for never being very enthusiastic, but they sure seemed to go all out over this jubilee. Maybe there is still hope for the Olympics after all.

Anyways, we saw the soldiers.

20120607-202050.jpg

Then we walked down to the river and managed to feed some of the swans.

Well, I did.

When I handed some bread to Josh to feed to the swans, he just ate it.

20120607-202420.jpg

20120607-202525.jpg

20120607-202534.jpg

It started to rain a bit and I saw a sign for boat rides so I thought “why not?” and we hopped on a boat tour.

20120607-202820.jpg

20120607-202832.jpg

20120607-203004.jpg

We sat up on the top for the first half, but Josh was getting antsy so we climbed down stairs where he was able to run around a bit.

20120607-203327.jpg

We saw swans.

And more swans…

20120607-203435.jpg

20120607-203445.jpg

And managed to stay dry.

So, it did turn out to be a nice little outing today.

And I would like everyone to know (especially Tara!) that Josh wore his new big boy shoes all day, without “forgetting” how to walk once.

Success!

20120607-203636.jpg

8 responses to “Soldiers and Swans

  1. That looks like a wonderful day! 🙂
    I’ll bet that Josh loved seeing the changing of the guards (that timing worked out, since you changed your mind on the stroller, didn’t it?!) And it cracks me up that he ate the bread, himself. 😉
    I think you’re ready for Mom’s visit!

  2. Wow, now I want to go visit you haha. Those are some amazing spots you went to. And great job to Josh for walking with his big boy shoes!

    • England is fun for a visit but I wouldn’t trade California for it! All my friends are posting pictures of their kids at the beach; I’m sad Josh won’t have the California childhood that I did. We’ll have to live with the swans and rain I suppose… 😉

  3. Another gorgeous round of pictures! Josh’s smile is precious. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Watching the Olympic Torch Relay | Ventura Upon Thames

Leave a Reply

