Baby Book Themed Baby Shower

20120819-210005.jpg

On Saturday, we had a baby shower for Tim’s sister.

Saturday also happened to be the hottest day of the year so far with temperatures hovering close to 90.

For other parts of the world, that may be typical summertime weather; but here in the UK, we just aren’t used to that kind of heat.

It was ridiculous.

The icing on the cake melted.

I didn’t even know that could happen.

20120819-205716.jpg

It was still a delicious cake and turned out to be a wonderful baby shower.

We did a book themed baby shower where every guest brought along a book they enjoyed as a child.

I had made book plates for them to fill in and leave a message for baby.

20120819-205938.jpg

Also as guests came in, they were asked to put their thumbprint on a picture, which hopefully will resemble Winnie the Pooh holding balloons. I’m hoping this can then be framed and hung up in baby’s nursery.

20120819-210326.jpg

Both men and women were invited and we played some games like baby pictionary and had a BBQ going.

20120819-210428.jpg

I had used several old children’s books to make bunting for the shower.

It felt a bit sacrilegious to be cutting up these books but I’m thinking maybe these could even hang in a child’s room after the shower.

Either way, they turned out very cute.

20120819-210623.jpg

Guests were also invited to paint a baby onesie, which we hung up to dry on a clothesline outside.

20120819-210919.jpg

I had bought several bags of them, ranging in sizes from newborn all the way to a year so they won’t all have to be worn at once.

I think everyone did such a great job on them and they all turned out so good.

Here is Tim’s.

20120819-211040.jpg

Typical football.

And here is mine.

20120819-211111.jpg

Typical American Dr. Seuss rip off.

But it really was a great shower with a great group of people.

Everyone left with bookmark favours and cookies.

20120819-211253.jpg

Josh especially seemed to have a great time, though I suspect that had to do with being allowed to eat a cupcake.

20120819-211400.jpg

7 responses to “Baby Book Themed Baby Shower

  1. Precious! You are so clever, Kerry. I’m sure that everyone was well impressed, and well chuffed, too. Good for you!

    • Thanks Robin but I assure you it’s all Pinterest! I’m obsessed!

      I think it also helps that they don’t really have baby showers here in the UK. The guests kept asking me “do most people have baby showers like this in the US?”

      We Americans just love a good party! 🙂

  2. OK. I saw the blog, but was there a video at the bottom? If so I couldn’t view it.

  3. How creative, Kerry! I love the thumbprint balloon takeaway 🙂

Leave a Reply

