Mason Jar Salads

20121108-191458.jpg

I have been procrastinating so long on writing this particular post, which is ironic given that it’s all about being more organised.

Tim has been really busy with work lately and I have been trying to manage meals at our house a bit better.

This usually involves one night at the start of the week, after Josh is in bed, sitting down and planning out all the meals for the week, then making a grocery list.

It’s annoying and a hassle sometimes, but it really has helped me to organise a bit more.

I’ve become so organised in fact, that most nights I will usually even make our lunches for the next day.

This has been aided immensely by the idea of putting salads in mason jars; yet another Pinterest discovery. It says that as long as the dressing and lettuce aren’t touching, the salads will stay fresh for up to a week.

I haven’t yet tried out this ‘stay fresh for a week’ hypothesis, but that’s hardly been necessary, as usually by the time I am done adding the toppings to the salad, I don’t have room for the lettuce and end up putting the lettuce in its own jar.

Either way, it’s pretty nice to have lunch all sorted when I get home. It also doesn’t hurt that they are in these cute mason jars.

So, I thought I’d share a few of my favourite ones, it being such great salad weather here in England.

Here they are in no particular order…

20121108-185535.jpgCaprese Salad

  • basil pesto, thinned out with a little olive oil;
  • pre-cooked chicken pieces;
  • cherry tomatoes, either halved or quartered;
  • cubed mozzarella;
  • fresh basil leaves, lightly chopped; and
  • lettuce, in a second jar.
  • 20121108-190123.jpgAsian Style Salad

  • Asian style salad dressing;
  • pre-cooked chicken pieces;
  • mandarin orange slices;
  • lettuce; and
  • sliced almonds.
  • 20121108-190558.jpgGoat Cheese and Strawberry Salad

  • dressing (probably a vinaigrette would work well here);
  • pre-cooked chicken pieces;
  • crumbled soft goat’s cheese;
  • strawberries;
  • sliced toasted almonds; and
  • lettuce, in a second jar.
  • 20121108-191050.jpg
    Feta and Avocado Salad

  • dressing;
  • pre-cooked chicken;
  • cherry tomatoes, halved or quartered;
  • crumbled feta cheese;
  • corn;
  • toasted pine nuts;
  • avocado; and
  • lettuce, in a second jar.
  • You can see from the picture above, I waited until the morning to slice the avocado to keep it from turning brown.

    It sure looked nicer in a bowl then it did in the mason jar though.

    20121108-191433.jpg

    20121108-192516.jpg
    Waldorf Style Salad

  • dressing;
  • pre-cooked chicken pieces;
  • sliced celery;
  • apples, cubed or chopped;
  • toasted almonds; and
  • lettuce, in a second jar.
  • You can probably see now why I’ve been putting off writing this post.

    There are endless possibilities.

    These are just a few of the ones I’ve enjoyed but maybe you all have more ideas you’d like to share?

    I’m always looking for some nice, quick lunch ideas, as I mentioned earlier, it being such nice salad weather and all.

    Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to scrape the ice off my windscreen.

    Happy eating!

    6 responses to “Mason Jar Salads

    1. Fantastic idea with the jars. We also make a list of all our weeks meals, it is really useful organisationally for our busy working lives, it helps me stick to my strict dietary regiment and my athletic performance has improved but is also great because we never waste any food, we only purchase what we can eat and this is great for both our finances and the environment. Thanks for another great post, inspiring!

      • Thank you so much for the great comment Chris! I should have been doing this meal planning years ago! Your right on so many levels, but especially how much food I was wasting. I bet you have some great healthy recipes too!

    2. love this post – am going to link again into Mamas London, if you’re OK with that ?… guess the kids could make their own right, they would love it !! LOL xo

      • Thanks Sian! Of course you’re more than welcome to use it. You’ll have to let me know how your kids get on with it! If it would get Josh to eat more, I’d be willing to try anything! 🙂

        • why dont you let him try doing a ‘baby size’ version of what you have in your jar, in a plastic tub. He could put in pasta, cheese, some veg or whatever he likes … and then mix shake it all up before he puts it in his bowl. he might like doing the same as you .. my girls love making pizzas themselves, they make scary faces etc., it seems to work, although they are better at eating now they are at school all day. I will try it in the holidays with the girls, when we can plan ahead a little, and report back. xo

        • That’s a GREAT idea!! Even if he doesn’t eat all of it, it might get him to be a bit more adventurous with foods other than peanut butter sandwiches! Thank you so much Sian! We will try that this week! 🙂

    Leave a Reply

    