Learning to Run

20121214-181339.jpg

I apologise in advance if this blog post is bragging.

It could have so easily gone the other way though.

Back in August when I turned the big 3-0, I made a birthday promise to myself, mainly promising not to complain as much about living in England.

For the record, I think I have been a lot better, getting out with Josh and exploring the countryside a bit more.

In my birthday promise, I also said I would like to start running more; a promise I easily forgot when the cold weather and rain came.

But thankfully my sister reads the blog and she didn’t forget.

In fact, as a birthday gift, she signed us up for a 5k.

And as much as the thought of running three miles made me feel nauseous, this last weekend we did it.

20121214-181212.jpg
And you know what?

I felt really good about it.

I think it helps that I had my wonderful sister to run with.

And let’s face it, it’s much nicer to run along the beach in 60 degree weather than in frosty England.

I mean, look at the view.

20121214-181606.jpg

20121214-181623.jpg

20121214-181830.jpg

So thank you Erin for the wonderful gift and making sure I actually followed through on something.

You’re an amazing sister!

20121214-181933.jpg

Let me know if we’re on for that half marathon next Christmas.

I’ll easily need the whole year to train for that.

Leave a Reply

